Membership & Officers

How to Join or Renew Your Membership

  1. NEAAHP membership dues are now collected online. The membership is a joint membership with NAAHP, the national professional organization.
  2. The annual individual membership dues correspond to the period of November 1 to October 31 of the following calendar year. The current dues are $35.00/year.
  3. Eligibility to join NEAAHP is restricted to duly appointed advisors (i.e., those who spend significant amounts of time advising) at undergraduate colleges and universities, or at post-baccalaureate programs (including Master’s) that act as pipelines to doctoral programs in medicine.  Admissions officers or those who are members of admissions committees of doctoral programs in medicine are not eligible to join NEAAHP (or have access to the NEAAHP email listserv).
  4. All memberships are individual (not institutional); they are non-transferrable.
  5. The membership fee for new members from a community college is waived for the first year.
  6. You will receive a dues receipt by e-mail. Please print for your records and for proof of payment for institutional reimbursement, if necessary.

Back to Top

Benefits of Memberships

  1. You will gain access to the most up-to-date information, enhance your advising skills, and network with advisors and admissions representatives by attending the regional and biennial national conferences.
  2. NEAAHP members are provided access to the NEAAHP listserv, which is a private listserv for the exclusive use of advisors in the Northeast who are NEAAHP members.  The NEAAHP listserv is an ideal venue for raising issues for discussion. It is restricted to advisors only in the northeast region.  This listserv is restricted, unlike the national HLTHPROF listserv, which is open to anyone with membership in the National Association of Advisors for the Health Professions (advisors, admissions officers from all of the health professions, and others).
  3. There are many leadership opportunities, valuable for your professional development.
  4. Opportunities abound for making professional presentations at annual conferences.
  5. NEAAHP members are eligible to actively participate and vote at annual business meetings.
  6. Supportive attitudes, a plethora of talents, engaging personalities, and a compelling devotion to their profession by NEAAHP members have been NEAAHP’s hallmark in the past, and remain our commitment to the future.


Back to Top

2016-2017 NEAAHP Officers


Lisa Kooperman
Contact Lisa Kooperman

Vassar College
124 Raymond Ave., Box 122
Poughkeepsie, NY 12604
845-437-7887 (fax)
President Elect Kristin McJunkins
Contact Kristin McJunkins
Yale University
55 Whitney Avenue
3rd Floor
New Haven, CT 06510

Past President and NEGSA Liaison

Debi Swarner
Contact Debi Swarner

Dickinson College Career Center
28 N. College Street
P.O. Box 1773
Carlisle PA 17013
Secretary Kirsten Peterson
Contact Kirsten Peterson

Allegheny College
520 N. Main Street
Box 62
Meadville, PA 16335

Treasurer Allyson Backstrom
Contact Allyson Backstrom
Cansius College
2001 Main St
Buffalo NY 14208
Executive Committee '17 Kimberly Buck-Speck
Contact Kimberly Buck-Spek
Temple University
1810 Liacouras Walk, Suite 100
Executive Committee '17 Elizabeth “Betsy” Brookins
Contact Betsy Brookins
Siena College
515 Loudon Road
Loudonville, NY 12211
Executive Committee '18 Jan Reichard-Brown
Contact Jan Reichard-Brown
Susquehanna University
514 University Avenue
Sellinsgrove PA 17870
Executive Committee '18 Aleshia Carlsen-Bryan
Contact Aleshia Carlsen-Bryan
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Building E39-355
Cambridge MA 02139
Executive Committee '18 Patricia Kreke
Contact Patricia Kreke
Mount St. Mary's University
16300 Old Emmitsburg Road
Emmitsburg MD 21727
301-447-5376 x4566
Executive Committee '18 Belinda Smith
Contact Belinda Smith
The City College of New York/CUNY
Marshak Science Building Room 529
New York NY 10031
Executive Committee
Community College Appointee
Michelle Klein
Contact Michelle Klein
Prince George Community College
301 Largo Road
Largo MD 20774
NAAHP Representative Elizabeth “Betsy” Brookins
Contact Betsy Brookins
Siena College
515 Loudon Road
Loudonville, NY 12211
NEGSA Committee Co-Chair Seth Ramus
Contact Seth Ramus
Bowdoin College
4901 College Station
Brunswick ME 04011-8440
Back to Top